Need some advice on my career

jillmichael
Tall Boy

Need some advice on my career

Post by jillmichael »

Hey yall...

I have been a Billy fan for a long time, met many of you various times in New York. I read this forum a lot even if I don't always post.

This post has nothing to do with Billy Elliot at ALL, haha...but I thought I might ask you guys for advice anyway, just for some objective advice from people who don't interact with me regularly in my everyday life. So if any of you have any advice for me at all, let me know :)

So, I am in medical school. I am in my fourth year, set to graduate in May 2012. I have a huge problem. I kind of HATE being a doctor. I am just miserable every day when I am at work, and then when I come home I am miserable at home because I think about having to go to work the next day. I am often working around 70 hours a week in a hospital. Studying for tests on top of that, plus applying for residencies and writing personal statements, and asking for letters of recommendation, etc.

I am just so miserable. It's not that I don't want sick people to get better or don't have compassion for people, because I do...it's just that I don't think this career is right for me. I don't think I am good at physical exam skills, I don't enjoy talking to people, and I don't exude a confidence that people want and expect from their doctors. I get extremely scared and always fumble my words and thoughts when I have to present a patient to the attending doctors. Also, with most jobs if you screw up, you can say "well, it's not a life or death situation" but when you are a doctor, you cannot say that, because it is, and that stresses me out to no end. And I know it sounds like I am beating myself up, but I feel like I am just saying what's realistic. I don't hate myself, but I know my strengths and weaknesses.